top of page

F.P. LaRue

Children's Author

Paula LaRue Pic.bmp

The Weeping House

Ollie and his two best friends, Mellie and Scotty, learn that a local house may be haunted. Legend has it that a young woman named Eleanor had a curse put on her by a spurned suitor. She is confined to the house for eternity. It is said that you can hear Eleanor sobbing from within the house.

Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty find the Weeping House and discover that the mystery and curse are, in fact, true. Along their journey, they encounter ghosts and terrifying creatures. They discover a diary, an amulet, and a handkerchief with magical powers, but each only works for one of them. Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty must work together to combine their powers, solve the mystery, and break the curse on Eleanor so that her spirit can be set free.

$ 12.99

Weeping House Book Cover.jpg

New Release

SERPENT WITCH front cover-1.png

The Legend of the Serpent Witch

Two boys are missing. Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty set out to determine what happened to them. In their investigation, they learn that other children in nearby towns disappeared and were never seen again. Then they discover a legend about an evil witch that kept snakes as pets and lured children to her. Most people think it is just a myth, but long ago, there were many believers. Could this evil witch have returned? Returned to their own town?

As Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty search for the missing children, they discover nothing is as it seems. Along the way, they confront an ugly, wicked witch that will stop at nothing to get what she wants. She casts scary spells and terrible curses. She creates awful concoctions and has supernatural powers. Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty come face to face with pure evil. Will they survive long enough to solve a mystery centuries in the making?

$ 12.99

The Curse of Shadow Park

     Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty search for a hiker that vanished near the Forbidden Zone in Shadow Park. Legend has it that the notorious Captain Jacques LaMal and his viscious crew of pirates buried gold treasure there.  As they delve deeper into the Forbidden Zone, the three friends encounter ghosts, thieves, and scary creatures. Dark forces lurk in the shadows, determined to protect the cursed gold at all costs. Together, they must conquer their fears as they face evil, black magic, and other terrifying surprises. 

     Will Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty solve the mystery of the missing hiker and uncover the truth about the curse of Shadow Park?

THE CURSE OF SHADOW PARK - cover design-1.png

$ 12.99


About F.P. LaRue

F.P. LaRue has authored three books in the Scary Shivers Mystery series, The Weeping House, The Legend of the Serpent Witch, and The Curse of Shadow Park. These adventure mysteries are written for middle-grade children and are designed to show children that reading can be fun. F.P. is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

Before writing children’s books, F.P.’s career had been in education, where she progressed from a teacher to the Dean of Academic Affairs for a small Michigan college. During that time, she authored Stalking: Surviving the Hidden Terror and co-authored Discover Your Inner Strength, both adult non-fiction books.

When not writing, F.P. LaRue loves to travel, having visited all 50 states in the U.S.A. and 54 countries worldwide. When COVID hit, F.P. took to writing again. She loves scary stories and looks forward to sharing her own frightening tales. She hopes her stories encourage children to discover the wondrous adventures reading can bring ... no matter what their age.

Scary Shivers Books

The Scary Shivers Mystery books are written for middle-grade children. They are designed to show children that reading can be fun. The reader can try to solve the mysteries along with Ollie, Mellie and Scotty, but be prepared for some twists and turns along the way. Try not to get too scared, as Ollie, Mellie, and Scotty encounter monsters and creatures, witches and ghosts, and curses and spells in their journey to solve the mysteries. These adventures are so scary they will send shivers down your spine.

There are currently three Scary Shivers adventures, The Weeping House, The Legend of the Serpent Witch, and The Curse of Shadow Park. A fourth adventure is scheduled for release in 2024.


What Readers are Saying:

(From Amazon Reviews)


"My 11 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed it and couldn't put it down!"


"Highly recommended for young readers seeking a mix of adventure and spookiness"

"Fun. Engrossing. Self-empowered young people facing and overcoming fears while solving important mysteries no one else could. Highly recommended.!"

Praise & Reviews

"The Legend of the Serpent Witch” is a thrilling, mysterious, suspenseful adventure from beginning to end! With scary scenes, surprising plot twists, and suspenseful cliffhangers, readers young and old will be hooked! As a teacher, I would recommend this book for older students who love a spooky, chilling mystery!

Kelly K, Elementary School Teacher


Upcoming Appearances

F. P. LaRue will be signing books at the Michigan Makers Spring Craft Market on Saturday, April 13, 2024, at the Suburban Collection Showcase, 46100 Grand River Ave., Novi, MI. The show hours are 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. 

bottom of page